Languages

Global menu

Anya Salih

English
Anya Salih
Photo: Espace pour la vie

Coral Luminescence

From Reef Survival to Novel Biotechnologies

Wednesday, April 16, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.

Rio Tinto Alcan Planetrium, Milky Way Theatre

Anya Salih, a research scientist at University of Western Sydney, Australia, studies coral luminescence – a phenomenon that is easy enough to describe, but its biological function is more difficult to understand. Why does coral emit light? Under what circumstances? What does it represent? Can we draw inspiration from it to develop new biotechnologies?

Note: The lecture will be given in English, with simultaneous translation into French.

About the speaker

Dr Anya Salih is a research scientist at the University of Western Sydney (UWS), New South Wales, Australia. She leads the UWS Confocal Bio-Imaging Facility, where she uses laser microscopes to investigate cellular processes in reef corals, in healthy and in cancer cells, in plants and microbes.

Anya’s main research is into the biological function of coral colours – the glow-in-the-dark fluorescent proteins that light up coral reefs. She believes that to understand why corals have evolved functional diversity of fluorescent colours, it is important to work across many disciplines. So she has teamed with many scientists from around the world – marine biologists, biophysicists, molecular biologists, electrophysiologists, biochemists – to solve the mystery of coral fluorescence.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Anya Salih

Français
Anya Salih
Crédit photo : Espace pour la vie

La luminescence des coraux

De la survie des récifs aux nouvelles biotechnologies

Mercredi, 16 avril 2014 à 19 h 30

Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan, Théâtre de la Voie Lactée

Anya Salih, chercheuse à University of Western Sydney, en Australie, s’intéresse à la luminescence des coraux. Un phénomène qui se décrit assez aisément, mais dont la fonction biologique est plus difficile à comprendre. Pourquoi les coraux émettent-ils cette lumière? Dans quelles circonstances le font-ils? Qu’est-ce que ça représente? Peut-on s’en inspirer pour développer de nouvelles biotechnologies?

Note : la conférence se déroule en anglais, traduction simultanée.

À propos du conférencier

Chercheuse à University of Western Sydney, Anya Salih dirige le laboratoire de bio-imagerie où elle analyse l’organisation fonctionnelle des cellules par microscopie confocale à balayage laser. Elle étudie les cellules saines et cancéreuses, les cellules des plantes et des microbes, et surtout, les cellules des coraux.

Elle s’intéresse au phénomène de coloration des coraux et particulièrement au rôle et au fonctionnement des protéines fluorescentes responsables de l’illumination des récifs. Elle veut comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles les coraux ont développé une telle diversité de couleurs. C’est en travaillant au sein d’une équipe internationale pluridisciplinaire de biologistes marins, biophysiciens, biologistes moléculaires, électrophysiologistes et biochimistes qu’elle souhaite résoudre ce mystère de la fluorescence des coraux. 

Add this

Partager cette page