Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Cyclamen

English
Cyclamen.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

There are some twenty species of cyclamen, including the commonly available Cyclamen persicum, or florist’s cyclamen. Cyclamen persicum is native to the eastern Mediterranean. Like the primrose, it belongs to the Primulaceae family.

Cultivars of C. persicum are grown mainly as flowering houseplants for the holiday season. Their attractive blooms, ranging in colour from pure white to bright red, and including shades of pink, salmon, mauve and purple, are held above the foliage. The upturned petals in some cultivars are ruffled or fringed and the centres of the flowers are a different colour. The delicate flowers contrast with the often marbled leaves. There are also a number of miniature cultivars that are lightly scented.

Cyclamen are tuberous plants adapted to Mediterranean conditions. They have clearly defined growing, blooming and rest cycles. They bloom mainly in winter and their natural rest period begins in spring. They then enter dormancy during the hot summer months.

The blooming period generally extends from November to March, depending on the cultivar, and a plant may flower for close to three months under suitable conditions.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Cyclamen

Français
Cyclamen.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Il existe une vingtaine d'espèces de cyclamens, dont le Cyclamen persicum ou cyclamen de Perse, celui que l'on trouve généralement sur le marché. Le Cyclamen persicum est originaire de Méditerranée orientale. Il appartient à la famille des primevères, les Primulacées.

Les cultivars de C. persicum sont principalement cultivés comme potée fleurie pour le temps des fêtes. Ils sont appréciés pour leurs fleurs, variant du blanc pur au rouge vif, en passant par des nuances de rose, saumon, mauve ou pourpre, qui s'élèvent au-dessus du feuillage. Chez certains cultivars, les pétales relevés ont le pourtour ourlé ou frangé et le centre des fleurs est de couleur différente. Les fleurs délicates contrastent avec les feuilles, souvent marbrées. Il existe également des cultivars miniatures qui sont légèrement parfumés.

Le cyclamen est une plante tubéreuse adaptée aux conditions méditerranéennes. Ses cycles de développement, de floraison et de repos sont bien définis. Sa floraison est principalement hivernale et sa période naturelle de repos débute au printemps. Il entre ensuite en période de dormance durant les mois chauds de l'été.

La période de floraison s'étale généralement de novembre à mars, selon les cultivars, et peut durer près de trois mois si les conditions sont appropriées.