Languages

Global menu

Dominique Rankin

English

Anicinape Matisi8in, the Circle of Life; A First Nations Vision of Nature – a lecture in French

Wednesday, October 10, 2012, 7 p.m.

The Circle of Life is central to the Algonquin culture and is a vast symbol of the countless interactions between all the elements that make up life. It includes the four races of humankind – yellow, red, black and white – that make up a huge family circle. The four cardinal points, represented by four sacred spirits, the Turtle, the Eagle, the Bear and the Buffalo, stand for the Feminine, Balance, Strength and Peace, respectively. Human beings are an integral part of this Circle and must never hold themselves apart from it. Although people today sometimes forget about our bonds with Mother Earth, we must remain inside the circle, for if Mother Earth suffers, we also suffer.

The Circle of Life is also a Medicine Circle, for human health depends on maintaining the proper balance between its different elements: body, heart and mind. Reconnecting with and protecting Mother Earth also means taking care of ourselves – giving our bodies, hearts and minds everything they need to flourish and be part of the oneness of life.

About the speaker

Dominique Rankin is an Algonquin hereditary chief and medicine man. He comes from Abitibi and was once Grand Chief of the Algonquin Nation. In 2006, he was admitted to the small circle of 49 recognized medicine men in Canada. Since then, Kapiteotak (his real name at birth and his spiritual name) has devoted himself to teaching traditional knowledge to the Anishinabeg peoples (members of the Algonquin family) as a way of reconnecting them with their roots. He also shares his knowledge with people of all origins who are interested in learning about the simple, profound philosophy of his ancestors. With Marie-Josée Tardif, he co-wrote an autobiography relating his youth in Native residential schools, On nous appelait les Sauvages (They called us “savages”). His story is a vibrant tribute to forgiveness and reconciliation.

Exclusive video

This content is available to My Space members only.

WATCH THE VIDEO

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Dominique Rankin

Français

Conférence Anicinape Matisi8in, le Cercle de la vie; une vision de la nature chez les Premières Nations

Mercredi, 10 octobre 2012, 19h

Le Cercle de la vie est à la base de la culture algonquine et c’est un vaste symbole des innombrables interactions de tous les éléments qui composent la vie. Il inclut les quatre grands peuples du monde – jaune, rouge, noir et blanc – qui forment un grand cercle familial. Les quatre points cardinaux, représentés par quatre esprits sacrés, la Tortue, l’Aigle, l’Ours et le Bison, évoquent respectivement le Féminin, l’Équilibre, la Force et la Paix. L’être humain fait partie intégrante de ce Cercle et ne doit jamais s’en exclure. Même si aujourd’hui nous perdons parfois de vue nos liens avec la Terre Mère, nous devons rester dans le Cercle car, si la Terre Mère souffre, nous souffrons aussi.

Le Cercle de la vie est aussi un Cercle de médecine, la santé humaine reposant sur un juste équilibre des éléments qui la composent : le corps, le cœur et l’esprit. Se reconnecter à la Terre Mère et la protéger, veut aussi dire prendre soin de soi; donner à son corps, à son cœur et à son esprit ce dont ils ont besoin pour s’épanouir et participer à l’unicité de la vie.

À propos du conférencier

Dominique Rankin est un chef héréditaire algonquin et un homme de médecine. Originaire de l’Abitibi, il a été Grand Chef de la nation algonquine. En 2006, il a été admis au cercle restreint des 49 hommes de médecine reconnus au Canada. Depuis ce temps, Kapiteotak (son véritable nom de naissance et son nom spirituel) se consacre à l’enseignement du savoir traditionnel aux peuples Anishinabeg (peuples de la grande famille algonquine) afin de les reconnecter à leurs racines. Il partage également ses connaissances avec des personnes de toutes origines, désireuses de découvrir la philosophie simple et profonde de ses ancêtres. Dominique Rankin a coécrit avec Marie-Josée Tardif une autobiographie relatant ses années de jeunesse dans les pensionnats indiens, On nous appelait les Sauvages. Son récit est un vibrant témoignage sur le pardon et la réconciliation.