Languages

Global menu

Georges Brossard

English
Georges Brossard, founder of the Montréal Insectarium, with Lycosa tarentula.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

Extract from “Notaires d'aujourd'hui”

by Daniel Bouchard, Vol. 2, no. 2, Octobre 1989.

The son of a farmer, Georges Brossard attended rural school No. 4, in the parish of Laprairie, Québec. (The town of Brossard didn’t exist in those days.)

“We lived in a beautiful, unspoiled place,” he recalls. “In a cupboard at school there were two specimens for our science class, a butterfly and a chunk of asbestos. I could gaze at them for hours. I guess that’s when I became attracted to insects, and that’s when I started my first insect collection, all by myself and not really knowing what I was doing.”

Then one day, returning home from college for the holidays, he found his collection ravaged by ants and spiders. “When I saw my collection in ruins like that, it hit me like a bolt of lighting: I knew that eventually I would be a great international collector. I saw my insectarium. I saw myself standing there explaining the world of insects to people. And now that vision has come true.”

After graduating from college, he went on to the University of Ottawa, where he studied law. He was thinking about doing a PhD thesis on bees, and becoming a professor. Did you know that bees are not native to Québec? They were brought here by French colonists. But bees and the law, as a doctoral thesis, was a rather unusual mix. His professors naturally brought him back to Earth, and he dutifully settled down to study and become a notary. At age 25, he opened his office. “I practised for 13 years, almost day and night, 6 days a week. I did thousands of minutes, incorporations and wills. I had 4 or 5 notaries and 15 secretaries working for me, and many, many clients.”

A shared passion

“I have to tell my fellow notaries that we ought to be proud of our profession. It allows us to be kind and charitable. I’ve hugged some clients, I’ve helped them, and at the same time I made a fortune. Being a notary really set me up.” But even as he was toiling away at such a frantic pace, Georges remained obsessed by his first vision, his insectarium. Finally, one New Year’s Day, at age 38, he retired. Now he would devote himself to natural science and the environment. His wife, Suzanne, also left her job as a dental assistant.

“We had decided to work like mad fools,” says Suzanne, “so that we could take early retirement and do what we wanted—to travel and have a family! On January 2 of that year, we boarded a plane and left on an eight-month world tour. It was like a dream. It took us a while to leave the stress behind; it had become such a habit. We had never taken a vacation, in 13 years of hard work. I remember one day, we were alone on a beach in Thailand, and all of a sudden I heard Georges exclaim ‘The telephone!’ He was still hearing telephones ringing in his head.”

Travel with a passion: Entomology

“I would take off for six months at a stretch, and I had plenty of time alone. I would spend my time reflecting, taking notes, writing, studying. I began thinking about going back to school, especially to study science. I told myself that of all the animals on Earth, insects must certainly be the ones that do the most for humans. They produce honey, silk, wax, shellac and dyes. They pollinate plants. And yet they are the most hated animals, the most misunderstood. We hunt them down with insecticides and fungicides. That’s why I decided to stick up for them. At first, I wanted a huge collection with all the insects in the world.”

So like any good entomologist, he took his net and set to work collecting insects. Georges has never purchased or been given any specimens. He has collected them himself, one by one, by day and by night, in 91 different countries. That was his life for 11 years. He has been to Thailand 11 times, Singapore 10 times, Africa 7 or 8 times, and South America 5 times. He pursues his passion on every continent. All by himself, he has catalogued over 200,000 specimens representing some 100,000 species. Imagine the energy he has poured into his quest, the insect bites and the illnesses, and the sheer willpower involved. But he was getting closer to his dream all the time, his insectarium. He saw it as a temple dedicated to insects, with modern museological facilities, serving educational, scientific, cultural and tourism goals.

From notary to entomologist… and museologist

How did he make the transition from notary to entomologist? For Georges, there was nothing complicated about it — you always remain a notary, whatever you do. “The first quality that a notary must possess,” he says, “is a sense of order. You have to be able to bring order to a complex system. Secondly, you need a good memory, and reason, obviously. And all those things are what make a good entomologist!”

As he travelled, he had to be able to exactly classify every animal on Earth, instantly. This science is known as systematics, and is one dimension of biology. He studied it thoroughly, not only in books but in the field, with a method acquired during his years as a notary. Once he had a satisfactory collection, he began showing it around Québec. Every time he exhibited his work, it met with astounding success. These presentations were the first steps toward his insectarium. He very quickly saw that the museology of insects was poorly designed.

“People set insects in uninspiring immobile poses, with no texts, no explanations, no links with their surroundings. I created huge thematic displays. I showed them to people and watched how they reacted. It didn’t take me long to understand that everything was too high up, too small. They had to lift their children up to show them the insects. I told myself that the whole museological approach had to be changed.” Rather than modelling his approach on other peoples’ ideas, Georges invented a new kind of museology.

Founding an Insectarium with public support

Once Georges had enough specimens to stock an insectarium, he made an appointment with Montréal Mayor Jean Drapeau. He donated his fabulous collection of nearly 250,000 specimens from over 100 countries to the city. The city suddenly found itself with all the basic insects it needed to create an insectarium. Mayor Drapeau gave the project his blessing and introduced Georges to Pierre Bourque, director of the Botanical Garden. Mr. Bourque instantly subscribed to the idea. The director of the Botanical Garden couldn’t believe it: Notary Georges Brossard was putting on exhibitions that attracted 75,000 visitors. He jumped at the opportunity.

Things just snowballed from there. The municipality granted him one of the choicest properties in the city, across from the Olympic Stadium and next to the Botanical Garden. It gave him all the architects, planners and technical support he needed. Funding flooded in from the different government departments involved. Donations, too. In one year, he raised $5 million.

“But I wanted the Insectarium to be financed by regular Montrealers,” he says. “That’s when I got the idea of a fund-raising campaign, through the Montréal Botanical Garden.”

“It’s such a source of pride to be able to say that the Insectarium was the brainchild of one man, that it was also born of the interest shown by a city, the Botanical Garden and government departments, but especially thanks to the interest shown by ordinary people.” Along with this permanent exhibition, the new Insectarium will offer an insect identification service for the public. You can turn up at the Insectarium with an insect, and they’ll identify it for you. We will bring together the world’s most beautiful insects and present them in a special, beautiful, interesting and often artistic way, with explanations in French and English. Instead of hanging on the walls, they will be shown in glass cubes, at children’s eye level. The museological approach is designed to appeal to everyone.”

“They knew they were dealing with a notary”

Georges Brossard is a great entomologist. But he is also a notary, and that side of his character shone through in his meetings with politicians and administrators.

“I have ideas. I know how to formulate them and write them down. I can write a speech. I can put together very good briefs. They knew very well that they were dealing with a notary. It’s not something you’re born with, it’s an acquired skill.”

The educational dimension

“I started doing this for my own personal enjoyment, but now I have developed a wider conscience. The coming decades will be devoted to the environment. We have done more damage to our environment in the past 60 years than in the previous 6,000. Our children are going to tell us ‘Dad, Mom, it’s horrible! The world has become barely viable. You’ve emptied all the mines and stripped the forests, and what’s more, you’ve left us billions of dollars in debt!’

“But take a school-age child, the adult of tomorrow, and ask him about natural science. Everything is just a ‘bug’ these days. They can’t identify orders or classes. And this is the kind of person who is supposed to fix the environment? He’s going to solve the all the problems? He’s going to have to do a lot of guesswork, then, because he doesn’t have the basic knowledge.

"School is where you learn the basics. I figure that a big institution that will make young people and adults aware of the insect world will have an ecological and environmental impact. We’ll make them better citizens, interested in reducing pollution, less ready to use insecticides and herbicides to keep their lawns nice. At some point we have to put a stop to all these destructive, polluting habits. And this is what my Insectarium will teach them.”

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Georges Brossard

Français
Georges Brossard, fondateur de l'Insectarium de Montréal, avec Lycosa tarentula.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

Extrait de l’ouvrage de Daniel Bouchard

Notaires d'aujourd'hui, Vol. 2, no. 2, octobre 1989.

Fils de cultivateur, Georges Brossard fréquente l'école rurale numéro 4 de la paroisse de Laprairie au Québec (la Ville de Brossard n'existe pas encore à cette époque).

« Nous vivions dans un milieu merveilleux où la beauté des terres était intacte. À notre école, il y avait une armoire contenant entre autres deux spécimens de sciences naturelles, un papillon et un morceau d'amiante. Je pouvais les contempler pendant des heures. C'est là, je crois, que j'ai eu la piqûre et j'ai commencé ma première collection d'insectes, tout seul et sans aucune technique. »

Puis ce fut le collège classique. L'internat. Un soir de congé chez lui, il trouve sa collection ravagée par les fourmis et les araignées. « Quand j'ai aperçu ma collection détruite, comme dans un éclair, j'ai su qu'un jour je serais un grand collectionneur international, j'ai vu mon insectarium. Je me suis vu debout en train d'expliquer le monde des insectes et aujourd'hui, cette impression est devenue réalité. »

Après le cours classique, ce fut l'Université d'Ottawa. Étudiant en droit, il envisage de faire une thèse de doctorat sur les abeilles et de devenir professeur. Saviez-vous que les abeilles ne sont pas des insectes du Québec? Elles ont été introduites chez nous par les Français colonisateurs. Comme sujet de thèse, les abeilles et le droit, cela étonne. Naturellement, il fut rappelé à l'ordre par ses professeurs et résolument, il entreprend de devenir notaire. À 25 ans Me Brossard ouvre son étude. « J'ai pratiqué 13 ans, presque jour et nuit, 6 jours par semaine. J'ai fait des milliers de minutes, d'incorporations, de successions. J'avais 4 à 5 notaires et 15 secrétaires qui travaillaient pour moi, une clientèle énorme. »

Une passion partagée

« J'ai besoin de dire à mes confrères notaires que l'on doit être fier de notre profession. Elle permet d'être humain et charitable. J'ai pris des clients dans mes bras, je les ai aidé et en plus, j'ai fait fortune. C'est le notariat qui m'a mis au monde. » Même au plus fort de cette période, Me Brossard reste toujours obsédé par sa première vision, son insectarium. C'est par amour des sciences naturelles et de l'environnement qu'il laisse la pratique notariale et qu'il se retire complètement, un 1er janvier à l'âge de 38 ans. Son épouse Suzanne quitte, elle aussi, son travail comme assistante en chirurgie dentaire.

« Nous avions décidé de bosser comme des dingues afin de pouvoir prendre une retraite anticipée et de faire ce dont nous avions envie: des voyages et des bébés! Le 2 janvier de cette année là, poursuit Suzanne, nous avons pris l'avion et entamé un tour du monde qui a duré 8 mois. C'était la vie rêvée et il a fallu du temps pour nous délester de notre habit de stress. Nous n'avions jamais pris de vacances en 13 ans de travail acharné. Je me souviens qu'un jour, nous étions seuls sur une plage de Thaïlande et tout à coup, j'entends Georges qui s'exclame : “Le téléphone!” Il avait encore l'appareil au fond des oreilles. »

Au cœur des voyages, une passion : l'entomologie

« Je partais pour des périodes de 6 mois et il y avait beaucoup de solitude dans ces voyages. Je réfléchissais, je prenais des notes, j'écrivais, j'étudiais. Le goût de l'étude m'est revenu, surtout pour les sciences naturelles. Je me suis dit que de tous les animaux sur terre, ce sont certainement les insectes qui rendent les plus grands services à l'homme. Ils produisent entre autres : le miel, la soie, la cire, la gomme laque et les teintures. Ils assurent la pollinisation des plantes. Et pourtant, ce sont les animaux les plus méprisés, les plus méconnus. On les pourchasse à coup d'insecticide et de fongicide. Voilà pourquoi j'ai décidé de les valoriser. Au départ, je voulais une très grande collection regroupant tous les insectes du monde. »

Donc, comme un bon entomologiste, il part à l'ouvrage avec un filet pour collectionner ses insectes. Il n'en n'a jamais acheté et on ne lui en a pas donné. Il les a pris un à un, de jour et de nuit, dans 91 pays. Depuis 11 ans, voilà sa vie. Il est allé 11 fois en Thaïlande, 10 fois à Singapour, 7 ou 8 fois en Afrique, 25 fois en Amérique du Sud, sa cueillette se poursuivant sur tous les continents. À lui seul, il a répertorié au-delà de 200 000 spécimens représentant environ 100 000 espèces. Imaginez la somme d'énergie, de piqûres, de maladies et de volonté que cela suppose. Mais il avance vers son rêve : son insectarium. Pour lui, cela devait être un temple à la mémoire des insectes, avec des arrangements muséologiques modernes et dont les buts fondamentaux seraient d'abord éducationnels, scientifiques, culturels et touristiques.

Du notariats à l'entomologie... vers la muséologie

Comment cet homme a-t-il fait pour passer du notariat à l'entomologie? Pour Georges Brossard, le passage de l'un à l'autre est évident, car en quoi que ce soit, on demeure toujours notaire.

« La première qualité exigée du notaire, c'est de l'ordre. Il doit être capable d'ordonner un système complexe. Deuxièmement, avoir de la mémoire et évidemment de l'entendement. Tout ça, ce sont les qualités de base d'un bon entomologiste! »

Au cours de ses voyages, il lui fallait classifier tous les animaux sur terre instantanément. Cette science s'appelle la systématique et constitue une partie de la biologie. Il l'a étudié à fond, avec une méthode s'inspirant du notariat. Il étudiait dans les livres, mais aussi sur le terrain. Disposant d'une collection satisfaisante, il a commencé à la montrer aux Québécois. À chaque exposition, le succès se révélait époustouflant. Ces présentations constituaient les premiers balbutiements de son insectarium. Très vite, il comprit que la muséologie des insectes était mal pensée.

« On fixait les insectes dans une immobilité stupide, on les montrait sans texte, sans explication, sans correspondance avec leur milieu. J'ai fait de grands cadres thématiques. J'ai montré ça aux gens et j'analysais leurs réactions. Je n'ai pas été long à comprendre que tout était trop haut, trop petit. On devait élever les enfants pour leur faire voir les insectes. Je me suis dit qu'il fallait changer la muséologie de tout ça. » Il n'a rien copié, il a inventé une muséologie nouvelle.

Fonder un insectarium à partir d'une volonté populaire  

Possédant à ce moment-là assez de spécimens pour créer un insectarium, il prend rendez-vous avec Jean Drapeau, maire de Montréal à l'époque. Il donne alors à la Ville de Montréal sa fabuleuse collection de prés de 250 000 spécimens provenant de plus de 100 pays. La Ville se retrouve ainsi avec tous les insectes de base pour faire un insectarium. Le maire Drapeau épouse le projet et met Georges en contact avec Pierre Bourque, directeur de Jardin botanique. Ce dernier adhère à l'idée instantanément. Le directeur du Jardin botanique n'en revient pas, le notaire Brossard monte une exposition qui attire 75 000 visiteurs. Le projet est vendu.

À partir de là, les événements s'enchaînent très vite. La municipalité lui cède un des meilleurs terrains de la ville, face au Stade Olympique et à coté du Jardin botanique. Elle lui fournit tous les supports techniques nécessaires, architectures, planification, etc. Des dossiers sont élaborés pour les différents ministères concernés et les dons affluent. En une année, il ramasse 5 millions.

« Mais je voulais que l'insectarium soit aussi financé par Monsieur tout-le-monde. J'ai eu l'idée de faire une campagne de souscription populaire par l'entremise du Jardin botanique de Montréal. »

« Quelle fierté de dire que l'Insectarium est né d'un homme, mais aussi de l'intérêt d'une ville, du Jardin botanique, des ministères et surtout de l'intérêt d'une population. En plus de l'exposition permanente, on offrira un service d'identification pour la population. On pourra se présenter à l'Insectarium avec un insecte et le faire identifier. Nous allons réunir les plus beaux insectes du monde et présenter ça d'une façon spéciale, belle, intéressante, souvent artistique, avec des explications françaises et anglaises. Au lieu d'être sur les murs, tout va être incorporé dans des cubes de verre, à la hauteur des enfants. Cette planification muséologique a été pensée pour tout le monde. »

On savait que l'on transigeait avec un notaire

Georges Brossard est un grand entomologiste. Mais il est aussi notaire et cela transparaît dans les réunions avec les autorités politiques et administratives.

« J'ai des idées. Je sais comment les formuler, comment les écrire. Je peux faire un discours. Je suis capable de constituer de très bons dossiers. On savait très bien que l'on transigeait avec un notaire. Ce pouvoir n'est pas inné, cela s'acquiert. »

La dimension éducationnelle du projet

« À partir de mes plaisirs bien individualistes, j'ai développé une conscience plus large. Les prochaines décades seront celles de l'environnement. On a plus détruit notre environnement en 60 ans qu'en 6 000 ans d'histoire. Nos enfants nous diront “– Papa, Maman, c'est dégoûtant, la terre est devenue un biotope à peine viable. Vous avez tout extirpé des mines et des forêts et de plus vous nous laissez des dettes effrayantes, des milliards!”

Mais prenons un enfant d'âge scolaire, l'adulte de demain, et interrogeons-le au niveau des sciences naturelles. Tout est devenu “bibitte”. L'enfant ne sait plus identifier aucun ordre, aucune classe. Et c'est ce jeune qui devra apporter les correctifs nécessaires face à l'environnement? C'est lui qui devra remédier à la situation? Il devra improviser d'une façon effrayante, il ne connaît pas les matériaux de base.

La base c'est au niveau de l'école qu'on l'acquiert. Je dis qu'une grande institution qui va sensibiliser les gens, les jeunes et les adultes au monde des insectes, va avoir des retombées écologiques et environnementales. Nous en ferons de meilleurs citoyens, moins pollueurs, moins consommateurs d'insecticides et d'herbicides pour de belles pelouses. Il faut à un moment donné mettre un stop à ces habitudes très polluantes. Mon projet va servir à donner cet enseignement. »