Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Hortensia (Hydrangea macrophylla)

English
Hydrangea macrophylla.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Colourful hydrangeas that aren’t very hardy!

Hydrangea macrophylla, or hortensia, is the species most commonly grown as a flowering house plant for Easter and Mother’s Day.

Indoor growing

If you were planning to keep your hortensia indoors, you shouldn’t expect it to survive for long, because it won’t thrive in the heat and dry air. Place it in a cool room, away from any heat source, and keep it well watered. It needs a bright spot, out of direct sunlight. The cooler the temperatures, the longer the blooms will last: under 16°C, about 8 weeks, and less than a month at normal room temperatures. Optimal temperatures are around 18°C in daytime and 15°C at night. During its active growing period, from April to September, it needs a lot of fertilizer. As long as you keep it in its pot indoors, we recommend feeding it every other week with balanced fertilizer (ex: 20-20-20).

Outdoor growing

In our climate, Hydrangea macrophylla is not very hardy. Although the roots can easily survive to zone 5, the stems and flower buds are sensitive to frost (zone 6), especially during cold winters without snow. It needs a spot that is protected from winter winds and where snow accumulates, without melting too quickly in spring (on the east or north side of a foundation). It also needs winter protection.

If you garden in zone 5, why not give it a try at home? Once your hortensia has finished blooming, cut it back, keeping just two pairs of leaves on each stem. Then that same spring, as soon as the ground has warmed up, plant it in your garden in a partially shaded spot. It can tolerate full sun, but avoid any site that is extremely hot. In the year you plant your hortensia, amend the soil with compost and water frequently to help the roots become established. In subsequent years, water only during dry spells and add a layer of compost every year to provide the plant with the necessary nutrients. Mulching keeps the soil moist in summer and protects plant roots during winter.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Hortensia (Hydrangea macrophylla)

Français
Hydrangea macrophylla.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Des hydrangées colorées mais peu rustiques!

L' Hydrangea macrophylla ou hortensia est l'espèce la plus couramment cultivée comme potée fleurie pour Pâques ou la fête des Mères.

Culture des hortensias à l'intérieur

Si vous pensiez conserver votre hortensia dans la maison, sachez qu'il ne survivra pas longtemps, car il résiste très mal à la chaleur et à la sécheresse. Il doit donc être placé dans une pièce fraîche, loin des calorifères, et être arrosé abondamment. Il nécessite beaucoup de lumière sans une exposition directe au soleil. Plus la température est fraîche, plus la période de floraison durera longtemps : sous 16°C, environ 8 semaines et moins d'un mois à la température normale de la pièce. La température optimale se situe entre 18 °C le jour et 15 °C la nuit. Durant sa période de croissance active, soit d'avril à septembre, il est très avide d'engrais. Tant qu'il est dans son pot à l'intérieur, nous recommandons d'appliquer aux deux semaines un fertilisant équilibré (ex : 20-20-20).

Rusticité des hortensias

Sous notre climat, l'Hydrangea macrophylla est de faible rusticité. Bien que les racines survivent aisément en zone 5, les tiges et les bourgeons floraux sont sensibles au gel (zone 6), particulièrement lors d’un hiver froid sans neige. Il faut donc choisir un site abrité du vent hivernal où la neige s'accumule, mais ne fond pas trop rapidement au printemps (côté est ou nord de la fondation). Une protection hivernale est également requise.

Si vous jardinez en zone 5, pourquoi ne pas tenter l'expérience chez vous? Lorsque la floraison de votre hortensia est terminée, taillez-le en ne laissant que deux paires de feuilles par tige. Le même printemps, dès que la terre est réchauffée, plantez-le au jardin dans un endroit mi-ombragé ou ensoleillé (évitez toutefois les emplacements très chauds). L’année de la plantation, amendez le sol avec du compost et arrosez régulièrement pour favoriser l’établissement des racines. Par la suite, il vous suffit d’arroser en période de sécheresse et d’ajouter une couche de compost annuellement. Appliquez un paillis organique pour conserver l'humidité du sol en été et protéger les racines en hiver.

Add this

Partager cette page