Languages

Global menu

Jean Lemire

English
Jean Lemire
Credit: Espace pour la vie

1000 Days for the Planet

Wednesday, May 21, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.

Botanical Garden Auditorium

Biologist and filmmaker Jean Lemire is pursuing his 1000 Days for the Planet mission – a voyage seeking to document the beauty and incredible diversity of the Earth’s species. This is an opportunity to observe the state of the biosphere and our relationship to it as humans

As a witness to many wonderful stories, but also to too many tragedies that demonstrate our lack of understanding of nature, Jean Lemire shares some of his most moving experiences and his insights, which can evolve over time and with different encounters.

The lecture will be followed by a visit to the mission’s base camp and a live chat with the boat’s crew.

About the speaker

A biologist by training, Jean Lemire has been sailing the seven seas for a few decades now. The multi-award-winning documentary filmmaker teamed up with some like-minded dreamers and converted an old trawler into a veritable production studio. The oceanographic schooner Sedna IV became the flagship of his fabulous documentary series “Mission Arctic” (2002) and “Mission Baleines” (2004).

In 2005, he set out to explore the last continent, on “Mission Antarctica.” It became one of the greatest expeditions of modern times – 430 days of sailing, isolation and adventures with the goal of increasing awareness of the effects of climate change.

In 2012, he launched his “1000 Days for the Planet” series, a three-year round-the-world voyage to document the human impact on biodiversity.

Menu global

Jean Lemire

Français
Jean Lemire
Crédit photo : Espace pour la vie

1 000 jours pour la planète

Mercredi, 21 mai 2014 à 19 h 30

Auditorium du Jardin botanique

Jean Lemire, biologiste et cinéaste, poursuit sa mission 1000 jours pour la planète. Un périple pour documenter la beauté et l’incroyable diversité des espèces vivant sur Terre. Un temps pour  témoigner de l’état de la biosphère et du rapport que nous, les humains, entretenons avec elle.

Témoin de tant de belles histoires, mais encore de trop de drames qui illustrent notre incompréhension face à la nature, Jean Lemire partage ses moments les plus émouvants et nous confie ses réflexions qui parfois se modulent au fil des rencontres, au fil du temps.

La conférence sera suivie d’une visite au Camp de base de la mission et d’une communication en direct avec l’équipage du bateau.

À propos du conférencier

Biologiste de formation, Jean Lemire sillonne les mers de la planète depuis quelques décennies. Documentariste maintes fois primé, il s’allie à une poignée de rêveurs et transforment un ancien chalutier en véritable studio de production. Le voilier océanographique Sedna IV devient alors le porte-étendard des grandes séries documentaires « Mission Arctique » (2002) et « Mission Baleines » (2004).

En 2005, il part à la découverte du dernier continent. « Mission Antarctique » devient l’une des plus grandes expéditions des temps modernes avec 430 jours de navigation, d’isolement et d’aventures pour sensibiliser la population aux effets des changements climatiques.

En 2012, il lance la série « 1000 jours pour la planète », un tour du monde sur trois ans pour documenter l’impact des humains sur la biodiversité.

Add this

Partager cette page