Languages

Global menu

Maxim Larrivée

English
Maxim Larrivée

About my work…

As Section Head, Entomological Collections and Research, I work with a team of enthusiastic colleagues. They share their love of insects with the general public, help people get over their fears and introduce them to the wonders of insects. From day to day, I take care of the mounted and live collections at the Insectarium, valuable indicators of worldwide biodiversity.

I’m a great believer in citizen science: science is all about collegiality and co-operation. That’s why I co-direct eButterfly, a project based on public input that tracks the distribution of butterflies in Quebec and other parts of Canada and in the United States, and Mission Monarch, which focuses on monarch butterfly breeding grounds in Canada. Thanks to help from the public, these projects tell us where butterflies are found in real time. They give researchers all kinds of extra eyes to improve our conservation efforts.

I’m also putting together a network to track insects in Quebec’s Far North, in co-operation with young people in Inuit communities. Our goal is to gather baseline data and use it for long-term studies. This is essential for identifying the type and pace of changes in the microfauna there. Even today, we don’t know enough about the rich biodiversity of the North.

Why I like research

Research lets me contribute to our collective knowledge and make people aware of the beauty around us and the importance of preserving it. But what really motivates me is the pure pleasure of discovery: when I find something new for me, for instance an insect I have never seen before somewhere or at a certain time of year. This new knowledge allows me to understand and predict where I can find it the next time.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Maxim Larrivée

Français
Maxim Larrivée

À propos de mon travail…

Chef de section, Collections entomologiques et recherche, je travaille avec une équipe de passionnés. Ils partagent leur amour des insectes au grand public, brisent ses peurs et le font s’émerveiller. Au quotidien, je m’occupe des témoins de la biodiversité du monde que sont les collections naturalisées et vivantes de l’Insectarium.

Je crois beaucoup en la science citoyenne : la science est une affaire de collégialité et de coopération. C’est pourquoi je codirige eButterfly, un projet de participation citoyenne qui suit la répartition des papillons au Québec, au Canada et aux États-Unis, ainsi que Mission Monarque, qui se concentre sur la zone de reproduction du papillon monarque au Canada. Ces projets permettent, grâce au public, de savoir où se trouvent les papillons en temps réel. Ils donnent aux chercheurs une multitude d’yeux supplémentaires pour améliorer nos efforts de conservation.

Je suis aussi en train de mettre en place un réseau de suivi des insectes dans le Grand Nord québécois, en collaboration avec des jeunes des communautés inuites. Notre but est d’établir les connaissances de base, pour ensuite pouvoir effectuer un suivi à long terme. C’est essentiel pour quantifier les changements dans la microfaune et surtout la vitesse à laquelle ils interviennent. Or, même aujourd’hui, nous connaissons mal la riche biodiversité du Nord.

Pourquoi j’aime la recherche…

La recherche me permet de contribuer au savoir collectif et de sensibiliser les gens à la beauté qui nous entoure ainsi qu’à l’importance de la préserver. Mon plus grand moteur est la découverte pure : quand je trouve quelque chose de nouveau pour moi, un insecte que je n’ai jamais vu dans ce lieu ou à cette saison précise. Ce gain de connaissances me permet de mieux comprendre et de mieux prédire où le trouver la prochaine fois.

Add this

Partager cette page