Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Nectar

English
Stanhopea saccata.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Orchid pollen is not used by honeybees as a source of food – instead they are attracted mainly by the plant’s nectar.

Those orchids that have most clearly developed this adaptation have a spur at the base of their lip. This means that the insect must have an appendage in order to reach the nectar. When it does so, it brushes against the pollinia, masses of orchid pollen.

The most striking example is Angraecum sesquipedale, which drew Darwin’s attention. He even predicted that a moth would be found with a proboscis long enough to reach the nectar at the end of the spur. In fact, an insect exactly matching Darwin’s description was found many years later. This type of pollination is often described as “lock and key,” because the insect’s organ fits into the flower just as a key fits into a lock.

Trap strategy

In the case of slipper orchids (Cypripedium, Paphiopedilum), an insect in search of nectar slips in under the column and leaves only once it has made its way along the side of the gynoecium, carrying with it pollinia stuck to its back. This step prevents it from pollinating the same flower. When it visits another flower, it will deposit the pollinia on the stigmas before leaving, taking a new load with it. This is called “trap” pollination.

The insect-orchid association is so closely established in many orchids that it can be described as “faithful” or “restrictive,” since only the type of insect capable of pollinating a particular orchid effectively will be able to visit the flower and obtain its nectar reward.

In addition, only orchids have this adaptation whereby pollen is clustered in pollinia, small hard masses easily “carried” on an insect’s back or a bird’s beak, especially when they have an adhesive disk (the viscidium).

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Nectar

Français
Stanhopea saccata.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Puisque le pollen des orchidées, regroupé en pollinies, n'est pas utilisé par les abeilles comme source de nourriture, leur principale source de récompense consiste en un nectar.

Les orchidées chez qui cette adaptation est présente de la façon la plus évidente sont celles qui sont munies d'un éperon au fond du labelle. L'insecte doit alors être muni d'un appendice pour aller puiser le nectar et, ce faisant, il se frotte aux pollinies.

L'exemple le plus notable est l'Angraecum sesquipedale auquel Darwin s'était intéressé. Il avait même anticipé la découverte d'un papillon dont le proboscis (la « trompe à nectar ») serait assez long pour aller puiser le nectar au fond de l'éperon. De fait, l'insecte fut découvert des années plus tard et il correspondait tout à fait à la description de Darwin. Ce type de pollinisation est souvent décrit comme « serrure », puisqu'un organe de l'insecte s'ajuste de façon précise sur la fleur.

Stratégie de la trappe

Chez les orchidées de type sabot (Cypripedium, Paphiopedilum), l'insecte à la recherche de nectar se glisse sous la colonne et ne ressort qu'après s'être faufilé sur le côté du gynostème tout en apportant les pollinies accolées à son dos. Cette étape empêche la pollinisation de la même fleur. Lors de la visite d'une autre fleur, il déposera les pollinies sur le stigmate avant de ressortir, porteur d'un nouveau fardeau. On parle alors de pollinisation de type « gosier » ou de « trappe ».

Chez de nombreuses orchidées, l'association insecte-orchidée est si étroitement établie qu'on peut parler de « fidélité » ou de « restriction » puisque seul l'insecte capable de polliniser efficacement pourra visiter la fleur et obtenir sa récompense de nectar.

L'adaptation que démontre l'accumulation du pollen en pollinies, petites masses dures facilement « transportables » sur le dos d'un insecte ou le bec d'un oiseau, surtout lorsqu'elles sont munies d'un disque adhésif (le viscidium), est d'ailleurs unique aux orchidées.