Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Nutrition

English
Dionaea muscipula with a fly
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal

The leaves of most plants absorb carbon dioxide (CO2) and oxygen (O2) from the air and capture the solar energy required for photosynthesis, while their roots draw water and dissolved minerals from the soil. Nitrogen compounds, phosphorus, calcium and many other minerals that plants need are contained in essential constituents or serve as enzyme activators. Some habitats – acidic peat bogs and marshes, for instance – are lacking in these substances. To overcome this lack, many plants form associations with fungi to form mycorrhizae on their roots.

In this symbiotic arrangement, the plant provides the fungi with sugars and other substances in exchange for substances that the fungi can more easily extract from the soil. But some plants have developed adaptations that allow them to use another source of nourishment: the insects that so often alight on their leaves. These carnivorous plants are found in nutrient-poor soils like Quebec’s acidic peat bogs.

These plants are not strictly carnivorous, though. Insects form only part of their diet. In fact, laboratory studies have proven that most (perhaps all?) of them can survive even without insect prey (Slack, 1979), although they become less vigorous and often produce fewer seeds. How much they decline depends on the quantity of nutrients available to their limited root systems. Even though they can survive on this diet, it is unlikely that they could resist strong competition in their natural habitat for long.

Reference: Slack, A. Carnivorous Plants, Mass., MIT Press, 1979, 240 p.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Nutrition

Français
Dionaea muscipula avec une mouche
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal

Chez la plupart des végétaux, les feuilles assimilent le gaz carbonique (CO2), et l'oxygène (O2) de l'air, et captent l'énergie solaire nécessaire à la photosynthèse, alors que les racines puisent, dans le sol, l'eau et les substances minérales en solution. Les produits azotés, le phosphore, le calcium et plusieurs autres substances minérales nécessaires à la plante entrent dans la composition des constituants essentiels ou jouent un rôle d'activateurs enzymatiques. Or, ces substances sont déficientes dans certains milieux, comme les marécages et les tourbières acides. Pour pallier à cette carence beaucoup de plantes s'associent, au niveau de leurs racines, avec des champignons pour former des mycorhizes.

Dans cette symbiose, les plantes fournissent des sucres et autres substances aux champignons en échange d'éléments que ces derniers peuvent tirer plus facilement du sol. Certaines plantes ont plutôt développé des adaptations leur permettant d'utiliser une autre source d'éléments nutritifs : les insectes qui se posent si souvent sur leur feuillage. C'est donc dans les milieux pauvres en éléments nutritifs, comme les tourbières acides au Québec, que l'on trouvera des plantes carnivores.

Mais ces plantes dites carnivores ne le sont pas strictement; leur mode d'alimentation insectivore ne sert qu'à compléter leur alimentation. D'ailleurs, il a été démontré en laboratoire que la plupart d'entre elles (peut-être toutes?) survivent même si on les prive de proie (Slack, 1979). Par contre, elles perdent de la vigueur et produisent souvent moins de graines; l'ampleur du déclin dépend de la quantité d'éléments disponibles au niveau de leur faible système radiculaire. Même si ces plantes peuvent survivre, il est cependant peu probable, qu'en subissant un tel régime, elles résistent longtemps à une forte compétition dans leur habitat naturel.

Référence : Slack, A. Carnivorous plants, Mass., MIT Press, 1979, 240 p.