Languages

Global menu

Pollution

English
Morpho polyphemus. Due to their sensitivity to environmental conditions, butterflies are front line witnesses to the health of our living environments.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

Pollution is the introduction of harmful substances (chemicals, such as heavy metals, pesticides, industrial organics, etc.) or physical factors (light, noise) into the environment. Pollutants can be harmful for species and ecosystems as well as for humans.

Dramatic impacts

Toxic substances can result in death or altered reproductive capability. Substances that accumulate in the tissues of living organisms affect species that are higher on the food chain far more than those below them, resulting in high mortality among the top predators, thus unbalancing the entire chain.

Fertilizers used in agricultural practices (particularly nitrogen) and phosphates from domestic detergents may have dramatic impacts on the biodiversity of surrounding or downstream areas (e.g. algal blooms, creating dead zones in lakes and oceans).

In Canada, governmental intervention in controlling pollution has resulted in significant reductions in many kinds of pollutants over the past few decades. However, this is not the case in many developing countries. Not only must they be encouraged to tackle pollution effectively, but they must also be supported in these efforts by concrete measures and actions on the part of the developed world, at all levels, from central governments to concerned individuals. A similar cooperative approach between developed and developing nations is also essential in dealing with climate change.

These texts have been provided by the Université de Montréal Biodiversity Centre.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Pollution

Français
Morpho polyphemus. De par leur sensibilité aux conditions de l’environnement, les papillons sont des témoins privilégiés de l’état de santé de nos milieux de vie.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

La pollution implique l’introduction de substances nocives (produits chimiques, tels que les métaux lourds, les pesticides, les produits organiques industriels, etc.) ou de facteurs physiques néfastes (lumière, bruits) pour l’environnement. Les agents polluants peuvent être nocifs à la fois pour les espèces, les écosystèmes et les humains.

Des impacts dramatiques

Les produits toxiques peuvent causer la mort ou affecter la capacité des espèces à se reproduire. Les substances qui s’accumulent dans les tissus d’organismes vivants touchent les espèces en haut des chaînes alimentaires beaucoup plus que celles se trouvant plus bas, aboutissant à une forte mortalité parmi les grands prédateurs et à un déséquilibre de toute la chaîne.

Les engrais utilisés en agriculture (particulièrement l’azote) et les phosphates des détergents peuvent avoir des impacts dramatiques sur la biodiversité des régions avoisinantes ou en aval (par exemple, les explosions de populations d’algues qui créent des zones mortes dans les lacs et les océans).

Au Canada, l’intervention des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral dans le contrôle de la pollution a abouti à des réductions considérables de nombreux agents polluants au cours des dernières décennies. Par contre, ce n’est pas le cas dans beaucoup de pays en développement. Ceux-ci doivent être encouragés à s’attaquer efficacement à leurs problèmes de pollution mais il revient aussi aux pays développés de les appuyer dans ces efforts par des mesures et des actions concrètes, prises à tous les niveaux des gouvernements centraux aux individus motivés. Une approche coopérative similaire entre les nations développées et en développement est également essentielle dans la question des changements climatiques.

Les textes de cette section proviennent du Centre sur la biodiversité de l'Université de Montréal.