Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Rhododendrons

English
Rhododendron 'Roseum Elegans'
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

There are some 1,000 species of rhododendrons. While they grow all around the world, the largest variety of species is found in China and the Himalayas. Thanks to the passionate botanists who travelled to these far-off lands in the 19th and 20th centuries, our gardens today are resplendent with the spring blooms of rhododendrons. This leaflet contains some practical tips for growing them.

Rhododendrons and azaleas

Rhododendrons and azaleas are members of the heath family (Ericaceae). The name rhododendron comes from the Greek words rhodon for rose, and dendron, tree. Literally, then, rhododendrons are “trees with rose-coloured flowers.”

Until the 19th century, botanists distinguished between the Azalea and the Rhododendron genera. Today, only the Rhododendron genus is recognized, although we still talk about azaleas. Many gardeners still consider rhododendrons and azaleas members of two separate groups, distinguishing them according to the following features.

Rhododendrons

  • Large flowers with 10 stamens
  • Large, sturdy evergreen leaves
  • Shrubs up to several metres in height

Azaleas

  • Small flowers with 5 stamens
  • Small, delicate deciduous leaves
  • Small shrubs

Rhododendron habit

Rhododendrons are bushy shrubs, and the different species may be upright, prostrate or open in habit. Depending on their geographic origin, they range in height from a few centimetres for high-altitude and northern species to over 10 metres for some tropical species.

Gorgeous blooms

Rhododendrons put on a fabulous spring show in May and June, blooming in a range of colours from white to mauve and every shade of pink. Yellow and orange flowers are more common on azaleas.

Most rhododendrons have no fragrance, although there are some exceptions. A single Rhododendron luteum bush, for instance, will fill a garden with its scent in spring.

Attractive foliage

Most rhododendrons have evergreen leaves. Only deciduous azaleas and a few species of alpine and arctic rhododendrons lose their leaves in winter.

The large or small, round or lance-shaped leaves give these shrubs an attractive shiny appearance year-round. Deciduous azaleas also turn a lovely golden or bronze hue in autumn.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Rhododendrons

Français
Rhododendron 'Roseum Elegans'
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

On dénombre environ 1 000 espèces de rhododendrons. Représentées dans le monde entier, c'est en Chine et jusqu'aux confins de l'Himalaya que l'on trouve la plus grande diversité d'espèces. Grâce aux expéditions de botanistes passionnés dans ces régions lointaines aux 19e et 20e siècles, nos jardins resplendissent aujourd'hui du spectacle printanier de la floraison des rhododendrons. Vous trouverez des conseils pour réussir la culture de ces plantes dans ce feuillet horticole.

Rhododendrons et azalées

Les rhododendrons et les azalées appartiennent à la grande famille des Éricacées. Le mot rhododendron dérive du grec rhodon signifiant rose, et dendron, arbre. Littéralement, les rhododendrons sont donc des « arbres aux fleurs roses ».

Jusqu'au 19e siècle, les botanistes distinguaient le genre Azalea du genre Rhododendron. Aujourd'hui, seul le genre Rhododendron est reconnu, mais le nom azalée est toujours utilisé dans le langage courant. De nombreux jardiniers continuent également de considérer les rhododendrons et les azalées comme deux groupes distincts en fonction des critères morphologiques suivants :

Rhododendrons

  • Fleurs de grande taille à 10 étamines
  • Feuilles persistantes, grandes et robustes
  • Arbustes pouvant atteindre plusieurs mètres de hauteur

Azalées

  • Fleurs de petite taille à 5 étamines
  • Feuilles caduques, de petite taille et délicates
  • Arbustes de taille réduite

Le port des rhododendrons

Arbustes buissonnants, les rhododendrons présentent un port dressé, couché ou évasé selon les espèces. En fonction de leur origine géographique, leur hauteur varie de quelques centimètres pour les espèces montagnardes et nordiques à plus de 10 mètres pour certaines espèces tropicales.

Des fleurs somptueuses

C'est au printemps, aux mois de mai et juin, que les rhododendrons nous offrent le spectacle de leur exubérante floraison. Les rhododendrons fleurissent du blanc au violet, en passant par toutes les teintes de rose. Les jaunes et orangés sont plus fréquents chez les azalées.

La majorité des rhododendrons ne sont pas odorants, bien qu'il existe des exceptions. Un seul arbuste de Rhododendron luteum, par exemple, suffit à embaumer un jardin lors de sa floraison.

Un feuillage ornemental

La plupart des rhododendrons ont un feuillage persistant. Seules les azalées à feuilles caduques et certaines espèces de rhododendrons d'origine alpine et arctique perdent leurs feuilles en hiver.

Rondes ou lancéolées, de taille variable, les feuilles parent les buissons d'un aspect lustré intéressant visuellement tout au long de l'année. Les azalées à feuilles caduques sont également très appréciées pour les teintes dorées ou bronze dont elles se parent à l'automne.