Languages

Global menu

Roland Lehoucq

English
Roland Lehoucq

What Do Extraterrestrials Look Like? – a lecture in French

Tuesday, April 30, 2013, 7:30 p.m. – SOLD OUT

For the first lecture at the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, astrophysicist Roland Lehoucq explores questions about whether life exists beyond our planet.

If extraterrestrials exist, where are they? And what would they look like? Would they be humanoid, resembling us? The most recent discoveries about our universe are enough to make your head spin: more than 800 planets gravitate around stars like our sun! When you realize that a galaxy may contain billions of stars, the potential for life seems unlimited… Not counting the planets in our own galaxy, like Mars, or even Titan, the moon that gravitates around Saturn and is comparable to our Earth in its primitive form. Sciences like astronomy and biology never cease to examine the data, to try to formulate hypotheses. And then, there is science fiction: popular novels, comic books and films suggest infinite possibilities for forms of life – either friendly or hostile – that could populate the cosmos. In light of current scientific knowledge, what might extraterrestrials be like?

About the speaker

A researcher at the Department of Astrophysics at the Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies Commission (or CEA) in Saclay until 2011, Roland Lehoucq is currently a professor at the École Polytechnique. He is a senior fellow in physics and one of the French specialists in cosmic topology. A lecturer, prolific writer, curator for scientific exhibitions and the author of some fifty articles written for lay readers, Roland Lehoucq has also been honoured with numerous awards and distinctions.

Roland Lehoucq's lecture was produced with the support of the Service de Coopération et d'Action Culturelle of the Consulate General of France in Québec and the Association des communicateurs scientifiques (ACS).

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Roland Lehoucq

Français
Roland Lehoucq

À quoi ressemblent les extraterrestres?

Mardi 30 avril 2013, 19 h 30 – COMPLET

Dans le cadre de la première conférence au Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan, l’astrophysicien Roland Lehoucq s’interroge sur l’existence de la vie à l’extérieur de notre planète.

Si les extraterrestres existent, où sont-ils? Et quelle apparence auraient-ils? Seraient-ils humanoïdes, comme nous? Les plus récentes découvertes sur notre Univers ont de quoi donner le vertige : plus de 800 planètes graviteraient autour d’étoiles, comme notre Soleil! Quand on sait qu’une galaxie peut contenir des milliards d’étoiles, le potentiel de vie semble illimité… Sans compter les planètes de notre propre galaxie, comme Mars, ou encore Titan, cette lune de Saturne comparable à notre Terre primitive. Des sciences comme l’astronomie et la biologie ne cessent d’examiner les données, pour tenter de formuler des hypothèses. Et puis, il y a la science-fiction : ses romans, bandes dessinées et films à succès nous suggèrent d’infinies possibilités de formes de vie – bienveillantes ou belliqueuses – qui pourraient peupler le cosmos. À la lumière des connaissances scientifiques actuelles, de quoi pourraient donc avoir l’air les extraterrestres?

À propos du conférencier

Chercheur au Service d’astrophysique du Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA) de Saclay jusqu’en 2011, Roland Lehoucq est actuellement professeur à l’École polytechnique. Il est agrégé de physique et l’un des spécialistes français de la topologie cosmique. Conférencier, écrivain prolifique, commissaire scientifique d’expositions et auteur d’une cinquantaine d’articles de vulgarisation, M. Lehoucq est également récipiendaire de nombreux prix et distinctions.

La conférence de monsieur Roland Lehoucq a été réalisée avec le soutien du Service de Coopération et d'Action Culturelle du Consulat Général de France à Québec et de l'Association des communicateurs scientifiques (ACS).