Languages

Global menu

The Green pages

Terrarium

English
Terrarium for an exhibition in Toronto.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

A terrarium, by definition, is a garden under glass. This technique was very popular in Victorian times, and is now gaining new popularity. You can create all kinds of different landscapes, from a woodland scene to a desert or tropical jungle. You can even add water, insects or small animals and make a vivarium.

Creating a terrarium is an interesting and educational project, for it clearly illustrates how an ecosystem works. A terrarium is a closed ecosystem – like our planet, but on a smaller scale. Inside its glass walls, many different processes occur and interact: photosynthesis, respiration, and the water cycle.

A closed environment like this helps us better understand what impact living organisms and their environments have on each other. With the help of the sun’s energy and photosynthesis, plants produce their own food. The water in the terrarium is constantly recycled, passing from liquid form to gas and back again, as the moisture in the air condenses on the glass walls, returns to the soil and is absorbed by the plants’ roots.

Growing plants under glass or in a terrarium is an original way of coping with the problem of the dry air in our homes, since it provides a very humid environment for plants, making it possible to grow more demanding varieties. In addition, terrariums can be very decorative and make good gifts for people with pollen allergies.

Menu global

Carnet horticole et botanique

Terrarium

Français
Terrarium pour exposition de Toronto.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Gilles Murray)

Un terrarium est par définition un jardin sous verre. Cette technique, très populaire à l’époque victorienne, suscite actuellement un nouvel engouement. Selon la fantaisie du jardinier, il prendra l’aspect de différents paysages : un sous-bois, un désert, une jungle tropicale. En y ajoutant de l’eau, des insectes ou de petits animaux, il se transforme en vivarium.

Créer un terrarium est un projet amusant et éducatif, car il illustre bien la notion d’écosystème. Tout comme notre planète, mais à une échelle miniature, le terrarium est un écosystème fermé. De nombreux processus s’y déroulent en interaction : photosynthèse, respiration, cycle de l’eau.

Cet environnement clos nous permet de mieux comprendre les influences mutuelles existant entre les organismes vivants et leur environnement. Grâce à l’énergie du soleil et à la photosynthèse, les plantes produisent leur propre nourriture. L’eau du terrarium est constamment recyclée, passant de la phase liquide à gazeuse. L’humidité de l’air se condense sur les parois de verre, retourne à la terre et est absorbée par les racines des plantes.

La culture sous verre ou en terrarium offre une solution originale au problème de l’air trop sec de nos maisons puisqu’elle procure aux plantes une humidité élevée. Elle permet ainsi de cultiver des plantes plus exigeantes. De plus, le terrarium est très décoratif et s’offre bien en cadeau aux personnes allergiques au pollen des fleurs.

Add this

Partager cette page