Languages

Global menu

Continuum

English
Continnum
Photo: Espace pour la vie (Daniel Choinière)
Continuum at the Chaos Theatre
  • Location: Chaos Theatre
  • Audience: 7 years and older
  • Length: 23 minutes

A combination of art, science and emotion, the novel approach taken by SPACE FOR LIFE is exemplified by the Continuum show, created by Michel Lemieux and Victor Pilon, at the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium: stunning, moving images, innovative technology and an immersive experience that sweeps visitors along a journey through the splendour of space and time.

“To do a show for a planetarium is a child’s dream come true,” explained Michel Lemieux. “I spent part of my childhood at the former Montréal Planetarium, and that’s most likely why I started creating multimedia shows with projections – it is there that I first understood that it was possible to use light to tell stories! As a fan of planetariums and reader of popular science magazines, I also knew that poetic liberties had to be credible; as we went along we made sure our approach made sense to people like the astronomers Pierre Chastenay and Pierre Lacombe, who is also the executive director of the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium.”

With two domes that house their own exclusive theatre, the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium offers an immersive experience that is not found anywhere else in the world. On one side, an astronomical theatre (Milky Way Theatre), where visitors explore the starry sky and interact with the theatre’s scientific presenter. On the other, a unique emotional experience in the Chaos Theatre, where visitors begin their adventure by taking an uninterrupted artistic journey: “the goal of the show is to engage visitors’ emotions more than their intellect,” states Michel Lemieux. “It’s the first experience the public has at the Planetarium – we want them to fall in love with space, like we all do when we stand there in awe looking at the real sky!”

“We enter the dome and walk on a densely dark reflective surface that recalls a body of water such as a lake, its surface mirroring the starry heavens at dusk. The eyes of animals stare out from the shadows and shine like small, seeing stars…”

 

A visually stunning installation

A wordless show – a completely original experience for the world’s planetariums – Continuum takes flight in a customized dome, where the line of horizon, which is usually at 180 centimetres, has been lowered to a metre in order to create an even greater immersive experience.

“Everyone has laid down on the grass as a child looking up at the sky, imagining all kinds of things,” reflects Michel Lemieux.

The show’s creators were inspired by their own ritual of sitting at the boulder-strewn edge of the river in front of their cottages observing both the sky and their reflection in the water. Until now, audiences attending Lemieux and Pilon’s shows have witnessed the human and digital interacting in front of them. In Continuum, however, their role is completely different: they are now the actors on the stage.

The show begins in a forest at night. The floor, reflective like the surface of a lake, gradually reveals boulders – comfortable bean bags covered in rock-like material to lay back on – surrounded by Adirondack chairs to stretch out in! From the human scale, the show propels the audience into space on the refrains of mesmerizing music, a selection of Philips Glass’ symphonic work from the last 15 years. Amongst the images used are photos taken by the Hubble telescope and reworked into synthesized images as well as photos of nebulae recreated and deconstructed into many layers to visually take the audience into the power of space.

 

The relation between art and science

“Life is very, very rare. The goal of art is partly to become conscious of this. Humans are close to nature, and the new Planetarium at SPACE FOR LIFE and the artistic, emotional, scientific and interactive experiences offered there allow us to ask ourselves new questions and to better understand our interdependence with nature,” emphasizes Victor Pilon.

“Places like the Planetarium and SPACE FOR LIFE are places that raise awareness,” adds Michel Lemieux. “We need places where we can say ‘take a closer look.’ Because the experience of nature is magnified, because we get it, because we see from close up, we enter into a relationship and our desire to preserve this relationship is strengthened.”

From this perspective, the creators see SPACE FOR LIFE and its facilities as playing an important role, allowing people, who don’t necessarily have access to nature, to reconnect with it.

The idea of interconnectedness is an abstract concept, but essential if we are to understand our humanity and our place in nature,” remarks Michel Lemieux. “We have the impression that the planets and space are outside of ourselves. And yet the atoms that form life here on Earth are the same as those that make up the stars!”

The goal behind the initiative and approach: seduce people. Get them interested and spark their imagination and curiosity. “The planetarium speaks to us about how incredibly precious life is. And that is very important. Visitors come and leave with this awareness and it helps them treat our planet and one other with greater care,” believes Victor Pilon.

Schedule of shows

Downloadable documents

Continuum - Fact sheet[ - 701.8 KB - 2 pages]

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Continuum

Français
Continuum
Crédit photo : Espace pour la vie (Daniel Choinière)
Spectacle Continuum
  • Public : 7 ans et plus
  • Lieu : Théâtre du Chaos
  • Durée : 23 minutes

L’approche inédite d’ESPACE POUR LA VIE conjuguant art, science et émotion s’exprime notamment au Planétarium dans le spectacle Continuum signé Michel Lemieux et Victor Pilon : des images saisissantes et émouvantes, des procédés techniques inventifs et une expérience immersive qui happe le visiteur pour le transporter à travers les beautés de l’espace.

« Faire un spectacle dans un planétarium, c’est un rêve d’enfance », indique Michel Lemieux. « J’ai passé une partie de mon enfance et de mon adolescence à aller à l’ancien Planétarium de Montréal, et c’est probablement pourquoi je me suis mis à faire des spectacles multimédias avec des projections : ça m’a ouvert à cette possibilité de raconter des histoires avec la lumière! En tant que fan de planétariums et de magazines de vulgarisation scientifique, je savais aussi que les libertés poétiques devaient être crédibles; notre démarche a été validée au fur et à mesure avec des gens comme les astronomes Pierre Chastenay et Pierre Lacombe, qui est également directeur au Planétarium. »

Avec ses deux dômes qui hébergent chacun leur théâtre exclusif, le Planétarium propose une approche immersive unique au monde. D’un côté, un théâtre astronomique (théâtre de la Voie lactée) pour explorer le ciel étoilé en interaction avec un animateur scientifique. De l’autre, une expérience émotive unique dans le théâtre du Chaos, un voyage artistique, sans interruption, par lequel les gens débuteront leur visite : « le but de ce spectacle c’est d’abord de travailler avec l’émotion, plus qu’avec l’intellect », indique Michel Lemieux. « C’est la première expérience que les gens vont vivre au Planétarium : on veut qu’ils tombent en amour avec l’espace, comme on le fait naturellement lorsqu’on contemple le ciel en nature! »

« Nous entrons dans le dôme et marchons sur une surface réfléchissante, d’un noir profond qui évoque un plan d’eau, un lac sur lequel se reflète la voûte céleste crépusculaire. Des yeux d’animaux apparaissent dans l’ombre et brillent comme autant de petites étoiles... »

 

Une installation scénographique

Spectacle sans paroles – une expérience complètement inédite dans les planétariums du monde entier – Continuum prend son envol dans un dôme taillé sur mesure, où la ligne d’horizon normalement à 180 centimètres est abaissée à un mètre, afin de créer une expérience d’autant plus immersive.

« On s’est tous couché dans l’herbe enfant pour regarder le ciel et on s’est imaginé toutes sortes de choses », rappelle Michel Lemieux.

Les créateurs ont été inspirés par leurs propres rituels, lorsqu’ils s’installent sur le bord de la rivière parsemée de roches devant leurs chalets pour observer simultanément le ciel et sa réflexion dans l’eau. Si, jusqu’ici, les spectateurs de Lemieux et Pilon ont vu se côtoyer sur scène l’humain et le numérique, dans Continuum, ce sont les visiteurs eux-mêmes qui deviendront les acteurs au milieu de la scène.

Le spectacle s’amorce dans une forêt la nuit. Le plancher réfléchissant comme un lac laisse se dévoiler des rochers – de grands coussins de type bean bags recouverts de tissu de roche sur lesquels se coucher – entourés de chaises Adirondacks où s’adosser! De l’échelle humaine, on s’envole dans l’espace sur une musique en soit plus grande que nature, des extraits tirés du répertoire symphonique de Philip Glass des 15 dernières années. Parmi les images utilisées, des photos prises par le télescope Hubble et retravaillées en images de synthèse, ainsi que des images de nébuleuses recréées et décomposées en plusieurs couches afin de plonger visuellement le spectateur dans les forces de l’espace.

 

La relation entre art et science

« La vie est très, très rare. Le but de l’art c’est aussi d’en prendre conscience. Il faut se rappeler qu’on est proche de la nature, et le nouveau Planétarium à ESPACE POUR LA VIE, les expériences artistiques, émotives, scientifiques et interactives qui y sont proposées, nous permettent de nous poser de nouvelles questions et de mieux comprendre notre interdépendance avec la nature », souligne Victor Pilon.

« Des lieux comme le planétarium, des lieux comme Espace pour la vie, ce sont des lieux de sensibilisation », ajoute Michel Lemieux. « Il nous faut des endroits où on dit “regardez de plus près”. Parce que l’expérience de la nature est magnifiée, parce qu’on comprend, parce qu’on a vu de plus près, on entre en relation et notre désir de préserver cette relation est accru. »

En ce sens, ESPACE POUR LA VIE et ses institutions jouent un rôle majeur, s’entendent pour dire les créateurs, en permettant aux gens qui n’ont pas forcément accès à la nature d’entrer en contact avec elle.

« La notion d’interconnexion, c’est un concept abstrait, mais essentiel pour comprendre notre humanité et notre place dans la nature », remarque Michel Lemieux. « On a l’impression que les planètes et l’espace sont en dehors de nous. Et pourtant, on partage les atomes qui forment la vie sur Terre avec les étoiles! »

L’intention de la démarche et de l’approche : séduire les gens. Les intéresser, allumer leur imaginaire, leur curiosité. « Le planétarium parle aussi, et c’est très important, de combien précieuse est la vie. Le fait d’y venir et de repartir avec cette conscience nous encourage à faire plus attention à notre planète et à l’être humain aussi », est convaincu Victor Pilon.

Horaires des spectacles

Documents téléchargeables

Add this