Menu header Billetterie en

Global menu

Emiko Wong

English
Emiko Wong
Emiko Wong

About my work…

Driven from my early years by a great thirst for knowledge and by a passion and commitment where the environment is concerned, I started at the Biodôme as a clinical veterinarian in 2003. Since 2018 I’ve served as division head for living collections, research and scientific development. I orchestrate the broad guidelines of the division and manage the different aspects of its projects (organization, workforce, budget, and so on) with the aim of successfully fulfilling our missions. My work is done in collaboration with Québec government departments, peer researchers or with external partners. At the conclusion of our respective experiments and based on the scientific literature, we exchange ideas on the best practices for reaching our goals with respect to animal welfare and conservation. In effect, above and beyond its educational mission, the Biodôme is a conservation center developing the expertise needed for the protection of certain species at risk.

That, for example, is the case of the wood turtle, a species endemic to Québec, and which is found only in the region. It is currently threatened by the destruction of its habitat, and is heavily poached. In association with the Québec Ministère des forêts, de la faune et des parcs (Department of Forests, Wildlife and Parks), a “head start” program has been established for the species. What’s involved, after collecting and incubating the turtles’ eggs, is taking care of the babies for one to two years before releasing them into the natural environment. Highly vulnerable at birth to predators, their chances of survival are improved during this rearing period.

Why I love conservation…

I consider myself an eternal student; I learn every day, and I do that through everything that connects me with nature, from Mount Royal to the St. Lawrence River, from the coastline all the way inland. Direct contact with animals is a privilege for me, and in the possibilities for learning that it offers, I feel humbled. I know beyond doubt that many solutions are to be found in nature. I hope that by way of the Biodôme and our work, the general public can appreciate the beauty and the fragility of what surrounds us, and will seek to commit to better protecting their environment. 

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Emiko Wong

Français
Emiko Wong
Emiko Wong

À propos de mon travail…

Animée depuis toujours par une grande soif de savoir, une passion et un engagement pour l’environnement, j’ai commencé au Biodôme en tant que vétérinaire clinicienne en 2003. Depuis 2018, j’œuvre à titre de cheffe de division des collections vivantes, de la recherche et du développement scientifique. J’orchestre les grandes orientations de la division et gère les différents aspects des projets (organisation, main d’œuvre, budget, etc.) afin de mener à terme nos missions. Mon travail se fait en collaboration avec des Ministères, des pairs chercheurs ou encore des partenaires extérieurs. Aux termes de nos expériences respectives et au regard de la littérature scientifique, nous échangeons sur les bonnes pratiques à adopter afin d’atteindre nos objectifs en matière de bien-être animal et de conservation. En effet, au-delà de sa mission d’éducation, le Biodôme est un centre de conservation où se développe l’expertise nécessaire à la protection de certaines espèces en péril. 

C’est par exemple le cas de la tortue des bois, une espèce endémique du Québec, que l’on ne trouve que dans la région. Elle est menacée par la destruction de son habitat et victime de braconnage. En association avec le Ministère des forêts, de la faune et des parcs (MFFP), un programme dit de « bon départ » a été mis en place pour l’espèce. Il s’agit, après avoir récolté et incubé les œufs des tortues, de prendre soins des bébés pendant un à deux ans avant de les relâcher en milieu naturel. Très vulnérables à la naissance face aux prédateurs, leur chance de survie est ainsi améliorée durant cette période d’élevage. 

Pourquoi j’aime la conservation…

Je me considère comme une éternelle étudiante, j’apprends tous les jours. Je suis par tout ce qui me connecte à la nature, du Mont-Royal au fleuve Saint-Laurent, de la côte aux terres. Le contact direct avec les animaux est pour moi un privilège et me rend humble de par ses possibilités d’apprentissage. Je suis intimement convaincue que de nombreuses solutions sont dans la nature. Je souhaite qu’à travers le Biodôme et notre travail, le grand public puisse apprécier la beauté et la fragilité de ce qui nous entoure, et vouloir s’engager à mieux protéger son environnement.

Add this

Partager cette page