Global menu

Geneviève Lajoie

English
Geneviève Lajoie
Photo: IRBV / Amélie Philibert
Geneviève Lajoie

A researcher in plant and microbial ecology, I joined the Jardin botanique team in 2021. I’m particularly interested in the ecology and evolution of the symbiotic relationships between plants and their microbiota. I like to use multidisciplinary research approaches to expand our understanding of interactions among species.

  • Research botanist at the Jardin botanique
  • Associate professor at the Department of Biological Sciences, Université de Montréal
  • Affiliations:
    • Québec Centre for Biodiversity Science (QCBS)
    • Programme de formation en sciences et services de la biodiversité computationnelle (BIOS2)
  • See her publications on her webpage.

Areas of research and expertise

  • Evolutionary and functional ecology
  • Plant-microbe symbioses
  • Microbial diversity of the phyllosphere
  • Organism response to climate change and urbanization

Education

Postdoctoral in Biology, 2020-2021
University of British Columbia

Doctorate in Biology, 2020
Université du Québec à Montréal

Master’s in Biology, 2014
Université de Sherbrooke

Bachelor’s in Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 2012
McGill University

About my work

Understanding the origin and consequences of microbial diversity on Earth constitutes a priority for 21st-century biologists. Applications of research in microbial biology are especially relevant for meeting the great environmental challenges of our generation, whether it be the improvement of human and plant health or maintaining the quality of the air, the water and the soil.

My research at the Jardin botanique has to do with the ecology and evolution of symbiotic relationships between plants and their microbiota. My laboratory seeks especially to understand which types of microbes live in association with the leaves of plants, and which physiological characteristics enable them to adopt that lifestyle. We’re also interested in the way that the plant microbiota can participate in the prevention of plant disease at the Jardin botanique.

Why I love research

Being a researcher is an exciting career that lets me continue to learn, to challenge myself and to exercise my creativity on a day-to-day basis. I love to read and discuss new subjects in biology and develop projects that will help strengthen our understanding. I feel privileged to be part of the collective and international adventure that scientific research comprises.

Add this

Menu global

Geneviève Lajoie

Français
Geneviève Lajoie
Crédit photo : IRBV / Amélie Philibert
Geneviève Lajoie

Chercheuse en écologie végétale et microbienne, je me suis jointe à l’équipe du Jardin botanique en 2021. Je m’intéresse particulièrement à l’écologie et à l’évolution des relations symbiotiques entre les plantes et leur microbiote. J’aime utiliser des approches de recherche multidisciplinaires pour améliorer notre compréhension des interactions entre les espèces.

  • Botaniste chercheuse au Jardin botanique
  • Professeure associée au département de Sciences biologiques à l'Université de Montréal
  • Affiliations :
    • Centre des Sciences de la science et de la biodiversité du Québec (CSBQ)
    • Programme de formation en sciences et services de la biodiversité computationnelle (BIOS2)
  • Voir ses publications sur sa page web.

Domaines des recherche et d'expertise

  • Écologie évolutive et fonctionnelle
  • Symbioses plantes-microbes
  • Diversité microbienne de la phyllosphère
  • Réponse des organismes aux changements climatiques et à l’urbanisation

Formation

Post-doctorat en biologie, 2020-2021
University of British Columbia

Doctorat en biologie, 2020
Université du Québec à Montréal

Maîtrise en biologie, 2014
Université de Sherbrooke

Baccalauréat en Sciences de l’Agriculture et de l’Environnement, 2012
Université McGill

À propos de mon travail

Comprendre l’origine et les conséquences de la diversité microbienne sur Terre constitue une priorité pour les biologistes du 21e siècle. Les applications de la recherche en écologie microbienne sont particulièrement pertinentes pour répondre aux grands défis environnementaux de notre génération, que ce soit l’amélioration de la santé humaine et végétale ou le maintien de la qualité de l’air, de l’eau et des sols.

Ma recherche au Jardin botanique porte sur l’écologie et l’évolution des relations symbiotiques entre les plantes et leur microbiote. Mon laboratoire cherche notamment à comprendre quels types de microbes vivent en association avec les feuilles des plantes, et quelles caractéristiques physiologiques leur permettent d’adopter ce mode de vie. Nous nous intéressons aussi à la façon dont le microbiote végétal peut participer à la prévention des maladies végétales au Jardin botanique.

Pourquoi j’aime la recherche

Être chercheuse, c’est une carrière stimulante qui me permet de continuer à apprendre, à me mettre au défi et à exercer ma créativité au quotidien. J’aime lire et échanger sur de nouveaux sujets en biologie et développer des projets qui aideront à améliorer nos connaissances. Je me sens privilégiée de faire partie de cette aventure collective et internationale qu’est la recherche scientifique.

Add this