Global menu

The Green pages


Daffodils (Narcissus cv.)
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)
Narcissus cv.

Members of the Amaryllidaceae family, daffodils (Narcissus) represent a group of very popular, early flowering spring bulbs (April/early May).

There are some 70 species and sub-species, natural hybrids and thousands of cultivars. The flowers are predominantly white or yellow. Daffodils are separated into 11 horticultural divisions based on their different flower forms.

Horticultural divisions of daffodils

  1. Trumpet daffodils
    Trumpet daffodils are traditional daffodils with one flower per stem. The corona (trumpet) is as long as or longer than the perianth segments.
  2. Large-cupped daffodils
    Large-cupped daffodils with one good-sized flower per stem. The corona has a large cup shape.
  3. Small-cupped daffodils
    Small-cupped daffodils with one flower per stem and a cup whose length is no more than one-third the length of the surrounding petals.
  4. Double daffodils
    As the name suggests, these daffodils have double flowers,
  5. Triandrus daffodils
    Triandrus hybrids are short and usually bear two or more nodding flowers per stem; as well, the petals are reflexed.
  6. Cyclamineus daffodils
    Cyclamineus hybrids resemble cyclamens, for which the division is named. The plants are short; the nodding flowers have a long, slender and fringed corona (trumpet) and reflexed petals. This group tolerates moist soil better than any other group.
  7. Jonquilla daffodils
    Jonquilla hybrids (or jonquils) have narrow leaves and several fragrant flowers per stem. The corona (cup) is wider than it is long.
  8. Tazetta daffodils
    Tazetta cultivars have the characteristics of the N. tazetta species: the strong-scented flowers grow in clusters. Some have single flowers, other have double flowers. They are very good for indoor forcing and cut flowers.
  9. Poeticus daffodils
    Poeticus (Poet’s) daffodils have one flower per stem with a shallow corona (cup) and are mid- to late-blooming.
  10. Wild species and hybrids
    This division contains all the “wild” species and hybrids that do not fit in any other division.
  11. Miscellaneous daffodils
    These are daffodils that do not fit in any other division.


Based on an article by Francine Joly and Lise Lacouture in Quatre-Temps magazine, Vol. 23, No.1.

Add this