Menu header Billetterie en

Global menu

Jonathan Gagné

English
Jonathan Gagné
Photo: Élise Arsenault
Jonathan Gagné

Astrophysicist

Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan

Jonathan Gagné is a Scientific Advisor at the Planétarium Rio Tinto Alcan and an Associate Professor at the Université de Montréal. He completed his Doctorate in Astrophysics in 2015, then a 3-year postdoctoral fellowship at the Carnegie Institution for Science in Washington DC, as a “Carl Sagan Fellowship” fellow. He then returned to Montréal to begin a second postdoctoral fellowship at the Institute for Research on Exoplanets (iREx).

His expertise focuses on brown dwarfs, young stars, exoplanets, associations of young stars and the collection of astronomical data with the use of a telescope. He uses the telescope at the Mont-Mégantic Observatory as much as others located in Hawaii and Chile. Since the launch of the Gaia satellite by the European Space Agency, Jonathan Gagné has used these new data, among other things, to discover hundreds of small-mass stars that belong to associations of young stars. This allows him to better understand the fundamental properties of these very small stars : a crucial step in understanding the properties of the exoplanets that orbit around them, which is the reality for most exoplanets!

He is involved in several international collaborative projects, including Backyard Worlds: Planet 9, which focus on discovering and studying brown dwarfs. His research projects have led him to discover several of the first brown dwarfs whose masses are so small that they are similar to giant gaseous exoplanets floating freely in space, rather than orbiting a star. These rare objects are sometimes called planemos.

In his spare time, Jonathan Gagné is a coffee buff and loves to refine his barista skills to explore the potential of coffee from various origins around the world.


List of publications by Jonathan Gagné »

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Jonathan Gagné

Français
Jonathan Gagné
Crédit photo : Élise Arsenault
Jonathan Gagné

Astrophysicien

Planétarium

Jonathan Gagné est conseiller scientifique au Planétarium et professeur associé à l’Université de Montréal. Il a complété son doctorat en astrophysique en 2015, puis un stage postdoctoral de 3 ans au Carnegie Institution for Science à Washington DC, en tant que boursier de « Carl Sagan Fellowship ». Il est ensuite revenu à Montréal pour débuter un second stage postdoctoral à l’Institut de Recherche sur les Exoplanètes (iREx).

Son expertise est centrée sur les naines brunes, les étoiles jeunes, les exoplanètes, les associations d’étoiles jeunes et la collecte de données astronomiques au télescope. Il utilise autant le télescope à l’Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic que d’autres situés à Hawaii et au Chili. Depuis le lancement du satellite Gaia par l’Agence Spatiale Européenne, Jonathan Gagné utilise ces nouvelles données entre autres pour découvrir des centaines d’étoiles de petites masses qui appartiennent à des associations d’étoiles jeunes. Cela lui permet de mieux comprendre les propriétés fondamentales de ces très petites étoiles : une étape cruciale pour bien comprendre les propriétés des exoplanètes qui sont en orbite autour d’elles, c’est-à-dire la plupart des exoplanètes !

Il fait partie de plusieurs projets collaboratifs internationaux, dont Backyard Worlds: Planet 9, qui se concentrent sur la découverte et l’étude de naines brunes. Ses projets de recherche l’ont mené à découvrir plusieurs des premières naines brunes dont la masse est tellement petite qu’elles sont comparables à des exoplanètes géantes gazeuses flottant librement dans l’espace, plutôt qu’en orbite autour d’une étoile. On appelle parfois ces objets rares des planémos.

Dans ses temps libres, Jonathan Gagné est un mordu de café et adore perfectionner ses talents de barista pour explorer le potentiel du café de diverses origines à travers le monde.


Liste de publications de Jonathan Gagné »

Add this