Languages

Global menu

Phytoprotection

English
The cascade in the Japanese Garden.
Photo: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

Phytoprotection: Safeguarding our collections

At the Montréal Botanical Garden, our phytoprotection experts work to keep our plants healthy by taking all kinds of preventive action and treating problems caused by insect pests and plant diseases.

It’s not always easy to know how to treat a plant in distress. The Garden has 22,000 taxa, each with its own specific needs and sensitivity to diseases and insect pests. Proper knowledge of plant physiology and their enemies is essential.

Phytoprotection calls for teamwork

The Section Head and supervisors work hand in hand with two horticulturists specializing in phytoprotection – one responsible for the greenhouse complex and the other for the outdoor gardens.

The greenhouses are a closed and protected environment, so plants there are more likely to be attacked by insect pests or diseases. The horticulturist responsible for the Garden’s collection inspects them every two weeks, and takes note of the results. As soon as an infestation is spotted, he or she notifies the person in charge of phytoprotection, to plan the appropriate treatment.

Going green

  • The use of synthetic pesticides in the outdoor gardens and the greenhouses was steadily reduced between 2005 and 2010.
  • Use of acaricides down by 74%.
  • Use of synthetic fungicides down by 38%.
  • Use of synthetic herbicides down by 22%.

The challenges of phytoprotection

Controlling insect pests and pathogens at the Montréal Botanical Garden is no easy task. The way plants are grouped in collections or in production areas actually makes it easier for insects and diseases to spread, and the huge variety of plants grown there leads to an equally diverse range of problems. For many years now, we have been developing different approaches so as to reduce the use of the most toxic synthetic pesticides at the Montréal Botanical Garden.

Policy on pesticide use at the Space for Life

The policy on pesticide use, adopted in 2004 and updated in June 2011, is intended to minimize the use of those pesticides most harmful to the environment and human health by instead using all alternative means of controlling plant pests and diseases while keeping our collections healthy and attractive.

Biological pest control

This is a method of controlling insect pests that uses living organisms (other insects, bacteria, nematodes or fungi) to reduce pest populations. These organisms, known as pest control agents, are natural enemies of the pest to be controlled. This approach is used instead of conventional pesticides.

Biological pest control in the exhibition greenhouses

For several years now, biological pest control has been used successfully in all the exhibition greenhouses. This calls for precise identification of the pest, thorough knowledge of the techniques, and perseverance.

Three pest control agents are used in the greenhouses. Cryptolaemus montrouzieri is an insect that preys on beetles. Amblyseius swirskii is a predacious mite (slow-release packets of mites can sometimes be seen tucked into the plants’ foliage). Between them they rid the greenhouses of scales, thrips and several other kinds of insect pests. Encarsia formosa is a tiny wasp whose larvae are parasites of whitefly larvae. Micro-organisms like bacteria, viruses and fungi can also be introduced in the greenhouses to infect and eradicate insect pests.

Another strategy involves growing indicator plants and banker plants in the greenhouses. Indicator plants attract harmful insects, so that horticulturists can quickly spot any infestation. Sometimes the plant can be destroyed before the pests spread.

Banker plants, on the other hand, serve as hosts for pest control agents. Small groups of indicator plants and banker plants may be dotted throughout the collections.

Biological pest control in the outdoor gardens

Biological pest control is also successfully applied in some of the outdoor gardens:

  • In the Courtyard of the Senses, harmful aphids and mites are controlled by predators (Aphidius, lacewings and ladybird beetles).
  • In the Japanese Garden, two predators (Amblyseius fallacis, Stethorus punctillum) have been introduced to control mites that attack the thujas.
  • In the First Nations Garden, a predator (Stethorus punctillum) is used to control mites.
  • Ladybird beetles control the aphids that attack the annuals in the Reception Gardens.

Integrated pest control

Integrated pest control is a strategy combining several methods to control insect pests, without necessarily eradicating them. It includes preventive methods (plant and site selection, crop rotation), physical and mechanical barriers, biological pest control and, as a last resort, careful and limited use of pesticides – always preferring those with a low environmental impact. Synthetic pesticides are used only when all other control methods have failed. For integrated pest control to be effective, regular screening must be done so that the appropriate action can be taken immediately. The goal is to effectively control insect pests, at a reasonable cost, while respecting the environment and protecting the health of Garden visitors and employees.

Integrated pest control is successfully used in all the outdoor gardens and in the service greenhouses, as follows:

  • Apply various prevention measures (select plants with better resistance to insect pests, and ensure appropriate growing conditions);
  • Identify enemies and allies;
  • Detect the problem and assess its severity;
  • Use intervention thresholds;
  • Adapt the ecosystem;
  • Combine physical, biological, chemical (synthetic) and other control methods and apply them at the right place and time;
  • Assess the effectiveness of the actions and the data collected, and re-assess the situation.

In the Rose Garden, where there are more than 10,000 rose bushes, over 98% of synthetic pesticides have been replaced with low-impact solutions, i.e.:

  • Improved screening and monitoring techniques;
  • Use of low-impact pesticides (insecticidal soap, pyrethrin, biofungicide, baking soda) and clay-based repellent;
  • Use of companion plants.

Based on article by Conrad Bertrand in Quatre-Temps magazine.

Add this

Share this page

Menu global

Phytoprotection

Français
Le cascade du Jardin japonais.
Credit: Jardin botanique de Montréal (Michel Tremblay)

La phytoprotection : protéger l’intégrité des collections

La tâche d'un horticulteur spécialisé en phytoprotection au Jardin botanique de Montréal consiste à s’assurer de la bonne santé des plantes en appliquant toutes les méthodes préventives et en intervenant au besoin pour traiter les problèmes causés par les insectes et les maladies affectant les plantes.

Il n'est pas toujours facile de savoir comment soigner une plante qui dépérit, puisque le Jardin compte 22 000 taxons ayant chacun leurs besoins et leur sensibilité aux maladies et aux insectes. Une bonne connaissance de la physiologie des plantes et de leurs ennemis est donc essentielle.

La phytoprotection, un travail d’équipe

Le chef de section et les contremaîtres collaborent avec deux horticulteurs spécialisés en phytoprotection. Un horticulteur spécialisé est responsable du complexe des serres, un autre veille sur la santé des jardins extérieurs.

Les serres constituent un milieu fermé et protégé, les plantes y sont donc plus susceptibles d'être attaquées par des ravageurs ou des maladies. Le dépistage des serres se fait aux deux semaines par l’horticulteur responsable de la collection. Le résultat du dépistage est noté dans un relevé. Dès qu’il détecte un foyer d’infestation, il avise le responsable de la phytoprotection pour planifier le traitement approprié.

Un virage vert

  • Entre 2005 et 2010, l’utilisation des pesticides de synthèse dans les jardins extérieurs et dans les serres a diminué de façon constante.
  • L'utilisation des insecticides-acaricides a été réduite de 74 %.
  • L'utilisation des fongicides de synthèse a été réduite de 38 %.
  • L'utilisation des herbicides de synthèse a été réduite de 22 %.

Les défis de la phytoprotection

Le contrôle des ravageurs et des agents pathogènes au Jardin botanique de Montréal n'est pas une tâche simple car le regroupement de végétaux en collections ou sur des aires de production favorise la prolifération des insectes et des maladies. De plus, la grande diversité des plantes qui y sont cultivées engendre des problématiques très diversifiées. Depuis de nombreuses années, plusieurs démarches ont été développées afin de réduire l’usage des pesticides de synthèse les plus toxiques au Jardin botanique de Montréal.

Politique sur l’utilisation des pesticides de l’Espace pour la vie

Adoptée en 2004 et révisée en juin 2011, la politique sur l’utilisation des pesticides vise à minimiser l’utilisation des pesticides les plus nocifs à l’environnement et à la santé humaine en privilégiant tous les moyens alternatifs de contrôle des organismes nuisibles aux plantes et ce, tout en conservant l’intégrité physique et esthétique des collections.

La lutte biologique

La lutte biologique est une méthode de contrôle des ravageurs qui utilise des organismes vivants (insectes, bactéries, nématodes ou champignons) pour réduire les populations de ravageurs. Ces organismes, appelés auxiliaires de lutte, sont des ennemis naturels du ravageur visé. La lutte biologique est utilisée pour remplacer les pesticides conventionnels.

La lutte biologique dans les serres d'exposition

Depuis plusieurs années, la lutte biologique est utilisée avec succès dans l'ensemble des serres d'exposition. Elle exige une identification précise du ravageur, de solides connaissances ainsi que de la persévérance.

Trois auxiliaires de lutte sont utilisés dans les serres. Cryptolaemus montrouzieri est un insecte prédateur de l’ordre des coléoptères. Amblyseius swirskii est un acarien prédateur (les sachets à libération lente contenant les acariens sont parfois visibles dans le feuillage des plantes). À eux deux, ils débarrassent les serres des cochenilles, des thrips et de plusieurs autres ravageurs. Encarsia formosa est une petite guêpe dont les larves parasitent les larves d’aleurode. Des microorganismes (bactéries, virus et champignons) peuvent aussi être introduits dans les serres dans le but d'infecter les ravageurs et de provoquer leur mort.

Une autre stratégie consiste à cultiver dans les serres des plantes indicatrices et des plantes réservoirs. Les plantes indicatrices attirent les insectes nuisibles, elles permettent aux horticulteurs de détecter rapidement une infestation. La plante peut parfois être détruite avant que les ravageurs se répandent dans la serre. Les plantes réservoirs abritent quant à elles les auxiliaires de lutte. Des ilots de plantes indicatrices et de plantes réservoirs peuvent être disséminés à travers les collections.

La lutte biologique dans les jardins extérieurs

La lutte biologique est également utilisée avec succès dans plusieurs jardins extérieurs :

  • Dans la Cour des sens, les pucerons et les acariens nuisibles sont contrôlés par des prédateurs (Aphidius, chrysopes et coccinelles).
  • Au Jardin japonais, deux prédateurs (Amblyseius fallacis, Stethorus punctillum) ont été introduits pour contrer les acariens affectant les thuyas.
  • Le Jardin des Premières-Nations a bénéficié de la présence d’un prédateur (Stethorus punctillum) contre les acariens.
  • Les coccinelles contrôlent les pucerons s’attaquant aux plantes annuelles des Jardins d’accueil.

La lutte intégrée

La lutte intégrée est une stratégie qui combine plusieurs méthodes de contrôle afin de diminuer les populations de ravageurs, sans nécessairement les éradiquer. La lutte intégrée inclut les méthodes préventives (choix des végétaux, choix du site, rotation des cultures), les barrières physiques et mécaniques, la lutte biologique et en dernier recours, l’usage judicieux et limité des pesticides. Les pesticides ayant un faible impact environnemental sont toujours privilégiés. Les pesticides de synthèse ne sont utilisés que lorsque tous les autres moyens de lutte ont été épuisés. L’efficacité de la lutte intégrée repose sur un dépistage régulier de façon à intervenir dès l’apparition des problèmes. L’objectif est de permettre un contrôle efficace des ravageurs, à coûts abordables, tout en respectant l’environnement et en protégeant la santé des visiteurs et des employés du Jardin.

La lutte intégrée est utilisée avec succès dans tous les jardins extérieurs ainsi que dans les serres de service en respectant les étapes suivantes :

  • Appliquer les diverses méthodes de prévention (choix de végétaux plus résistants aux ravageurs et régie de culture appropriée);
  • Identifier les ennemis et les alliés;
  • Dépister et évaluer l’état de la situation;
  • Utiliser des seuils d’intervention;
  • Adapter l’écosystème;
  • Combiner les méthodes de lutte (physiques, biologiques, chimiques, etc.), les pratiquer au bon endroit et au bon moment;
  • Évaluer l’efficacité des actions ainsi que les données recueillies et réévaluer la situation.

Dans la Roseraie qui compte plus de 10 000 rosiers, plus de 98% des pesticides de synthèse ont été remplacés par des solutions à faible impact :

  • Amélioration des techniques de dépistage et de suivi;
  • Application de pesticides à faible impact (savon insecticide, pyréthrine, biofongicide, bicarbonate de soude) et de répulsif à base d’argile;
  • Intégration de plantes compagnes.

 

Tiré de l'article de Conrad Bertrand paru dans la revue Quatre-Temps.

Add this

Partager cette page